Christmas Tree Cake Pops….

This time of year is so magical. I love decorating, putting up the tree and all the community events which happen to celebrate this great event of people gathering!

Hayden’s school had their Christmas Fete last week. Was a bit of a mad dash to get to there for 5pm, then race downtown for the Lantern Parade and Lights switch on, but we made it and thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

In the week leading up to this- I received the expected cake plate. It has a lovely little note asking to fill it up with cakes for the sale….. UNFORTUNATELY for what I have in mind there was most definitely NOT enough room…. WHY??? CAKE POPS!!!!!! It all started 2 years ago when my son and I made some truly awful gingerbread biscuits for the sale. I was heartbroken, as at the end of the evening they were all STILL there, unsold… abandoned… not even at 10pence each would they budge. Hayden wasn’t best pleased, and I was horrified! So…. Last year started my investigation and new found talent of CAKE POPS… I needed to save some face from the failure – and I did. We WOWED the crowds with Reindeer and Christmas Pudding Pops.

Xmas 1

Moving on now to this year’s treat – and I thought I would do a ‘how to’ guide as I was asked a few times from some of the eager parents…. They must have been better as they were sold for 50 pence each!

I started with popping to Hobbycraft. A few essential items from there as this is the only place I knew (given I had 48 hours left as totally forgot!!!) that stocked all that I needed and quickly!!! This list gave me the ingredients and tools for 57cake pop trees (and a half if you count the spoonful the OH had!) if you want less, then you can make/buy what you need once you see the method…

  • 2 boxes of Betty Crocker BROWNIE mix (I use brownie mix as have found it the best flavour, consistency and ease) I would normally make 2 trays of brownies by hand but I was rushed!
  • 2 tubs of frosting – I chose the Betty Crocker fudge icing for this – taste test proven. I only used 1 & 1/4 tubs. 1 would be fine.
  • 2 packs of candy melts – I used green….! Lol! 
  • A bunch of lollipop sticks – for as many pops as you want to make!
  • Sprinkles to decorate – pick what sprinkles you would like for your trees.
  • Cake pop holder – I have 3 square tin foil trays with polystyrene inside, then covered with loose tin foil and red tape to hold. This means I can use them over and over!!!!

   

Firstly, following the instructions or your own recipe, cook the brownies. (Simples) Once done, remove and cool. 

Once cooled, smash the cakes to pieces into a large mixing bowl and add the frosting and mix. Only add enough frosting to make a slightly sticky dough, too much and all it makes is a mess on your hands! ๐Ÿ˜‚

Once mixed thoroughly, find your scales. In order to help with weight and even sizes it is best to measure the ‘lumps’ of mix. I have found between 25-27grams works best! Once you have weighed one, roll it between your palms- with the trees I rolled into a cone shape. Stack on a tray and cool in the fridge for 24hours. This is the most important bit!!!!!

  

(Please ignore the jรคgermeiรŸter…. Unless you are making adult ones! ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

Day 2- all cooled and ready to go, leave them in the fridge while you melt the candy. I use a Bain Marie for this as have found I can control the melt easier and keep it runny-ish through construction.

  

To begin, take 1 pop and 1 stick. Jab the stick into the pop where you want the stick to be, remove, and dip a little of the stick into the candy. Place back into the hole you made and place to cool. This helps the pop stay on the stick!!!!

  

Next, is the fun bit. It took me a couple of goes to find a good technique, but by pure accident I found a geeeeenius way of application. Using a tablespoon, I scooped some of the candy and placed the tree on top. Holding at an angle I twisted the tree on the stick while I LIGHTLY moved the spoon down the tree. Not only did this help with coverage, but gave a brilliant effect on the pop! Place into cake pop holder. Once I have a tray full I pop back into the fridge and work on the next batch.

  
 

Now they all look like trees and are covered, time to decorate. Put sprinkles onto a plate ready!!!

  
I used the left over candy and dribbled over with a small spoon, twisting the tree making a swirl, then dip straight onto sprinkles!!!!

  
Put back into the tray!!!!!! And keep going. If you run out of candy you can use a little piping icing to stick. I had some white candy left over from a different project so quickly melted some of this to use instead!

  
I had some candy stars in a mix of sprinkles already in the cupboard so used these for the top!! 

  
And VOILA!!!!! Beautiful Christmas Tree cake pops!!!!!!!!!! 

I love making cake pops! And walking around the school fete I passed a lot of smiling little faces with half a tree on a stick! ๐Ÿ˜‚

Another set of pops I made this year was for the Children in Need cake sale! Just to show you how fun and versatile these are!!!!!!

  
Hope this has helped!!!!!!! 

Merry Christmas!๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ„๐ŸŽโค๏ธ

Vix xxxxx

Leave a Reply

